Station Map

Fisher House

In the middle of the 18th century, the first steps were made towards a municipally oriented settlement structure in Brake. In 1746, some 28 residential houses were documented in Brake. Craftsmen, merchants, fishermen, barge shippers and maritime pilots lived here. Among the latter war a man named Addick Addicks. In 1731, he and his wife Elisabeth commissioned the construction of the building now known as the “Fischerhaus” (“Fisher House”). It is one of the oldest houses in Brake, a so-called Low German Hall House. At the beginning of the 1990s, the house was painstakingly restored. In the meantime, the atmospherically charming rooms are often the settings of weddings. Additionally, Brake´s Heritage Society and the Association “Culture in the Fisher House” host concerts, small presentations and readings in the house. [More]